Hymn-Theology: Morning by Morning New Mercies I See

“Great is Thy faithfulness, Great is Thy faithfulness,
Morning by morning new mercies I see:
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!”

Thomas O. Chisolm & William M. Runyan –

“Great is Thy Faithfulness” 1923

My mom used to always say to me, “Tomorrow is another day.”  That mom-ism helped me cope with less-than-ideal circumstances, failures, and disappointments.   It left me with the feeling that, no matter what had happened today, I could start over tomorrow.  I don’t think she realized, however, how true that mom-ism was.

Ever since I heard the hymn, “Great is Thy Faithfulness” from CeCe Winans (circa 1996), this particular phrase resonated within my very being: “morning by morning new mercies I see.”  At the time, I didn’t realize that phrase was scripturally based.

Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22-23

Of course, it would be very easy to speak of the amazingly powerful truth in each stanza, but for this post, I’d like to focus on “morning by morning new mercies I see.”

With people, morning by morning doesn’t bring newness or mercy or new mercy.  No, you wake up and remember the wrongs done to you the day before.  Mistakes go on forever.  We’re good at keeping records of wrongs.

That being said, it is a difficult thing to grasp the fact that the Lord renews his mercy toward us on a daily basis.  But Jesus isn’t a liar.  He is faithful.  For our faithfulness to change His faithfulness would degrade the God-ness of His faithfulness.  You see, our God does not change.

Our response to his ever-renewing mercy should help us do a number of things including, but not limited to, easily forgive our fellow man and rejoice in thankfulness to God for His ever-renewing mercy.

Here’s my simple recording of this timeless hymn:

 

For Thought & Discussion:

All scripture quotations, unless otherwise indicated, are taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Hymn-Theology: Morning by Morning New Mercies I See

  1. What a wonderful Bible truth and hymn! He’s been faithful to me for 78 years, 55 years as a pastor. My wife and I, married 56 years, daily rejoice in HIs faithfulness to us. Though never wealthy by American standards, He has met every need. As we grow older, our trust is in HIs promise in Proverbs 4:18. Thanks for sharing your throughts on God’s promise.

Please leave a comment with your thoughts about this post.

